The Actionable Analytics Lab engages teams including graduate students, faculty members, project coordinators, and subject matter experts. Victor Benjamin and John Zhang serve as co-directors. Learn more about our research and vision.

Membership

Directors  
Victor Benjamin victor.benjamin@asu.edu
Pei-yu Chen peiyu.chen@asu.edu
Research Staff and Associate Members  
Michael Goul michael.goul@asu.edu
Bin Gu bin.gu@asu.edu
Sang Pil Han sangpil.han@asu.edu
Kevin Hong hong@asu.edu
Asim Roy asim.roy@asu.edu
Raghu Santanam raghu.santanam@asu.edu
Benjamin Shao benjamin.shao@asu.edu
Michael Shi zmshi@asu.edu
Shinyi Wu shinyi.wu@asu.edu
John Zhang zhongju.zhang@asu.edu
PhD Students  
Qinglai He qinglaih@mainex1.asu.edu
Ziru Li ziruli@mainex1.asu.edu
Kumar Sirugudi ksirugud@asu.edu
Xueyan Yin xyin21@asu.edu
Master’s Students  
Bingyan Du mzhang123@asu.edu
Manlan Zhang Bingyan.Du@asu.edu
Samyuktha Sridhar ssridh55@asu.edu
Undergraduates  
Hadi Mazboudi hmazboud@asu.edu
Kylel Scott kdscott9@asu.edu
Mingjing Zhao Mingjing.Zhao@asu.edu
Alumni  
Soumya Adhya sadhya1@asu.edu
Sachin Chhabra Sachin.chhabra@asu.edu
Kunal Sahay ksahay@asu.edu
Jiayong Mo jiayongm@asu.edu
Ayushi Pancholi apanchol@asu.edu
Rishabh Patil rapatil3@asu.edu
Kiran Pendyala kpendyal@asu.edu
Salem Sai lsai1@asu.edu
Shivani Suram ssuram1@asu.edu
Xiaoyu Zhu xzhu78@asu.edu

Leadership

Victor Benjamin

Victor Benjamin is an assistant professor and co-director of the Actionable Analytics Lab in the Department of Information Systems at ASU’s W. P. Carey School of Business. His most recent work focuses on the development of a computational framework for identifying, collecting, and analyzing online cybercriminal communities with diverse geopolitical origins, including the United States, China, Russia, Iran, and more. The contributions of his work include detection of emerging cyber threats, improved cybercriminal attribution, understanding of the global cybercriminal supply chain, and more.

Beyond the context of cybersecurity, Benjamin is interested in pursuing other domains of high societal impact while also contributing to advancement of the latest natural language processing (NLP) and machine learning (ML) methodologies. Recently, he has made significant contributions to the state-of-the-art skip-gram with negative sampling (SGNS) neural network language model. He extended SGNS by developing a novel method for representing temporal attributes of data during model learning. Further, he introduced a new technique to boost SGNS model learning by incorporating information from existing knowledgebase.

Benjamin received his PhD in management information systems — with a PhD minor in linguistics — from the Eller College of Management at the University of Arizona. He is involved with numerous professional and service-oriented activities within the information systems field. He has recently served as a reviewer for ACM Transactions on Management Information Systems, Communications of the International Information Management Association, Journal of the American Society for Information Science and Technology, IEEE Intelligent Systems, IEEE Transactions on Human-Machine Systems, INFORMS Journal on Computing, and the International Conference on Information Systems.

Pei-yu (Sharon) Chen

Dr. Pei-yu (Sharon) Chen is a full Professor and co-director of the Actionable Analytics Lab in the Department of Information Systems at ASU’s W. P. Carey School of Business. Prior to this position, she was on the faculty at Carnegie Mellon University and Temple University. She received her PhD from the Wharton School of Business, University of Pennsylvania.

Dr. Chen’s research interests are in data analytics and IT-enabled strategies. Specifically, her research tries to 1. build models to derive meaningful and impactful insights from data, 2. devise strategies to transforms insights into actions and impacts, and 3. uses data to evaluate effects and understand impacts of any business strategy. She has experiences in working with data in the areas of electronic commerce, retailing, financial markets, social media, education and healthcare. Her work has been published in leading journals such as Information Systems Research, Management Science, MIS Quarterly, and Operations Research, along with numerous papers presented in the top conferences in the IS discipline, such as the International Conference on Information Systems and the Workshop on Information Systems and Economics.

She has served as an associate editor for Management Science and Information Systems Research and as a guest editor for special issues in MIS Quarterly. She has also served on the program committee and as session chair/discussant on a number of IS conferences/workshops, including serving as a co-chair for the Conference on Information Systems and Economics in 2018, ISS Cluster Chair at INFORMS Annual Conference in 2018, a co-chair at the Workshop on Information Systems and Economics in 2011, and a track co-chair for International Conference on Information Systems in 2011.